Cristiano Ronaldo Wins FIFA Best Player Award in London

On Monday night in London, Cristiano Ronaldo won the FIFA Best Player Award for his achievements in football over the past twelve months, beating out Lionel Messi and Neymar, whom were the other two nominees in the category.

Well deserved we think, as CR7 has really excelled to higher levels each year, and is an unstoppable force in the world of football, no less on the football pitch where he continues to make his mark. Standing at 185cm and weighing 80kg at age 32, the question now is can he continue to beat Lionel Messi for all the shiny trophies like last year, after picking up this award for a second year running?

Cristiano Ronaldo was presented the award by Diego Maradona, crowning him the World’s Best Footballer in consecutive years over both Lionel Messi and Neymar. Those two have lots of work ahead if they intend on beating him for other accolades in the ongoing season. After all, Ronaldo celebrated winning both La Liga titles and the Champions League title consecutively last season.

Ronaldo making his speech, with Diego Maradona in the background. Credit: AP

In 2017 alone, Ronaldo has scored 44 goals for club and country, including twice in the Champions League final in June. As CR7 collected his award, he said, “Thank you a lot guys for voting for me. I would like to give a mention to Leo and Neymar for being here. Real Madrid supporters, my teammates, coach, president, all support all through the year so I have to say thank you to them.”

CR7 then added, “‘We are in England for the first time and I win consecutive awards so I’m really glad, it’s a great moment for me. FIFA give the opportunity to fans, I know I have fans all over the world (so) thanks for the support, I appreciate it… I’m so happy, thank you very much.”

All the hard work and undoubted skill is paying off for Cristiano Ronaldo, and if there’s still a debate of who is the best player in the world, then surely now Ronaldo’s recent achievements should answer that question for you.

Two winners on the night, Ronaldo and Zidane. Credit: GettyImages

Other awards on the night went to very deserving players. Best Men’s Coach went to Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid), Best Goalkeeper went to Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), and the Puskas Award (Best Goal) went to Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud for his scorpion kick goal against Crystal Palace.

Lastly, the Best Fans Award went to Celtic football club, and in the Best Player Starting XI, there were no less than 5 Real Madrid Players, including Luka Madrid, Toni Kroos and Sergio Ramos to name a few.

It will be very interesting to see who will win the next Ballon D’Or award, with many predicting that it will be Cristiano Ronaldo picking up that gong as well. Pretty damn clear who’s the best footballer in the world now, isn’t it?

Brainstain, over and out!

<Story by The Narrator> 

Buy FIFA 18 with Ronaldo on the Cover, Here!

Featured Photo Credit: FIFA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.